The Nicholaz Viewer – Crashes & Freezes Solved?

I got really fed up with the Second Life viewer and all its freezing and crashing, which has just got worse and worse over recent months. So when I heard about the Nicholaz “The Mad Patcher” Beresford  Viewer, I thought I’d give it a try.

Apparently Nicholaz is a coder who has been spending his free time plugging the holes in the SL viewer code to fix the bugs and memory leaks for no reward from Linden Labs. And it works – up to a point. It doesn’t fix things completely, but since I installed it yesterday, there’s been less crashes and freezes that there were before though there still are some. And the viewer tends to close down a lot quicker and more cleanly when I log off – it used to be that logging off would freeze the viewer for minutes and my computer would take ages just to pull up a web page after logging off due to it stealing all my memory and seemingly not wanting to release it again.

So thanks Nicholaz, keep up the good work, but why you should have to do it and not Linden Labs I really don’t know.

You can download the viewer from Nicholaz’ blog, but make sure you read the instructions first – it’s not that hard to install….
http://nicholaz-beresford.blogspot.com/

Just realised with this post and the previous one I’m having a really moaning day today. Bah! Humbug!

~ by slconceptual on October 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
