Castles In The Air

 “Neurotics build castles in the air, psychotics live in them. My mother cleans them.” Or so says comedienne Rita Rudner. Although I preferred the quote from Henry David Thoreau “If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now take them into your inventory.”

And I’ve been building some castles in the air myself. It started out with an almost accidental viewing of the Gorillaz video of their song Feel Good Inc. – which I hadn’t seen in ages, and had forgotten what a sweet little floating island powered by a windmill they had in it.

And so, armed with a construction kit of half a dozen sculpties, two textures – one grass, one rock, and a couple of giant prims, I built my castles in the air.

First effort was a long abandoned, overgrown medieval castle on a 32×40 giant prim.

Castles In The Air 01

Castles In The Air 04

This metamorphosed into part of a neolithic settlement – probably the camp where stonehenge’s builders lived.

Castles In The Air 11

Castles In The Air 12

And the final metamorphosis was into a swimming hole created from a rain filled abandoned quarry used by the Stonehenge builders. And this one I decorated with a few bits of garden furniture and plants.

Castles In The Air 17

Castles In The Air 42

Castles In The Air 43

Castles In The Air 44

If you want to visit and go for a swim, it’ll be there for a week or so till I need the prims to build a new castle in the air. SLURL here….
http://slurl.com/secondlife/Simyit/125/27/607/

And then I found this…Castle In The Sky by Hayao Miyazaki – a Japanese animation about the search for a long forgotten floating island. And I consistently found myself watching this and thinking “How would I build that?” – The island, when they finally get there (and no I’m not giving anything away) is huge. Anyone got a spare sim?

Watch the film here – but this is only a 5 minute preview – you have to download the VeohTV viewer to watch the whole thing – but even the first 5 mins has some nice floating islands and some great retro future steampunk machines.
http://www.veoh.com/videos/v13032639Sgqh8TH

~ by slconceptual on March 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
